FAQ - What Is Class 1, 2, 3 In Warning Lights?

When It comes to warning lights, it’s very important for each commercial vehicle to have the correct lighting to signal their presence. However, with three classes of warning lights, which do you need and what do they all mean. Here’s a quick description of the SAE Class:

Class 1: If you or your business operate emergency vehicles such as police cruisers, ambulances or fire trucks, you will be using SAE Class 1 Warning Lights. These warning lights are at least 4x brighter than Class 2 warning lights and their usage depends on your local jurisdiction.

Class 2: For utility vehicles and others who work on roadsides, these vehicles operate with SAE Class 2 Warning Lights. Not being as bright as the Class 1, they are about 2.5x brighter than Class 3 lights.

Class 3: For vehicles such as forklifts, machinery, or other attention-grabbing lights, you will need SAE Class 3 Warning Lights. Though these vehicles don’t operate on roadways, they still need to signal their location to let others know of their presence.

Have Questions About Your Heavy Duty Truck?

Fill out the form on this page to get in contact with the Blaine Brothers team. Leave as much information as possible so we can serve you best the first time. Thanks for considering Blaine Brothers, we look forward to working with you!

We Supply the Brands You Trust

Blaine, MN


10011 Xylite Street NE
Minneapolis, MN 55449

Cloquet, MN


1325 Hwy 45
Cloquet, MN 55720

Clearwater, MN


750 Heaton BLVD
Clearwater, MN 55320

Baldwin, WI


2500 Alreich Ave
Baldwin, WI 54002



9515 150th Avenue NE
Columbus, MN 55025